Australian University

Table of Contents

There are 41 Australian universities, of which 3 are private (Bond, Torrens and Notre Dame). Diversity and autonomy are central features of Australian universities. Higher education in Australia enjoys a high international reputation. Australian universities are part of a clearly recognised international community of scholarship, with academic staff recruited internationally, and students also increasingly coming from overseas as well as from across Australia. 


  • Courses can vary considerably in form, entry requirements, duration and method of assessment.
  • The academic year is generally from early March to late November, or mid-July to late June of the following year.
  • The year is normally divided into two semesters, although some universities offer three semesters in one calendar year for certain courses.
  • Students studying towards a Doctoral Degree or other postgraduate research awards may be able to negotiate an alternative starting date with their research supervisor.


Duration: 1 -2 years

Bachelor Degree
Duration: minimum of 3 years

Bachelor Degree(Honours)
Duration: 1 years

Graduate Certificate
Duration: 6 months

Graduate Diploma
Duration: 12 months

Masters Degree(Coursework)
Duration: 1 – 2 years

Masters Degree (Research) – MPhil
Duration: 1 – 2 years

Doctoral Degree (Doctor of Philosophy – PhD)
Duration: usually 3 years

Scroll to Top